Roasted Chickpea Lemon Orzo Soup

IMG_5180

Last night for supper I tested out a new recipe for lemon orzo soup. Before I switched to a plant based lifestyle, I LOVED the lemon chicken orzo soup from Panera. I was so excited to try and master a vegan version of that recipe. I just googled “vegan lemon orzo soup” and the first recipe in my results was vegan lemon chickpea orzo soup.. sounded amazing!

This recipe is from delishknowledge.com, which is a vegetarian recipe website. I modified the recipe just a little to better suit what I was craving. First of all, I roasted my chickpeas instead of putting them in the soup straight from the can. I wanted a crunchy texture in the soup and thought roasting the chickpeas would hit the spot. I used the roasted chickpea recipe from the “Oh She Glows” vegan cookbook (which I love), but I am sure you can find a recipe on the internet. I also wanted my soup to have a very strong lemon flavor. I did not measure out my lemon juice (the recipe says 1/8 cup), and instead squeezed in an entire lemon. After squeezing in just half the lemon, I thought the lemon taste was too subtle for what I wanted and used the entire lemon.

The last modification I made was adding more orzo. The recipe calls for 1 cup, but after cooking the soup, it was not as thick as I was looking for. My memory of the Panera soup was that it was thick with lots and lots of orzo, so that is what I tried to create. I did not measure the second batch of orzo I added unfortunately, but I would guess that I added another 1/2 cup or full cup. This modification made the soup texture perfect! At the end, I salt and peppered the soup to taste and it was exactly what I was craving. I fixed up a bowl, topped it off with roasted chickpeas, and then devoured the soup. It was incredible!

Here is a link to the website, please try this recipe and let me know if you enjoyed it!

http://delishknowledge.com/vegan-lemon-chickpea-orzo-soup/

 

2 thoughts on “Roasted Chickpea Lemon Orzo Soup

Leave a Reply

