Energy in January

Happy New Year!

Today I start the first month of my happiness project, inspired by the book Gretchen Rubin wrote titled The Happiness Project. I have a previous blog that explains what the book and the project are all about. The Happiness Project is truly one of my favorite books so I highly suggest you check it out! For the month of January I will focus on improving my energy. For me, this seems like to best way to set the mood for a brand new year. My resolutions will aim at increasing my physical and mental energy level.

My first resolution is to go to bed by 10:30 pm each night. I am terrible about staying up until 1 am just watching tv, and I rarely get the 8 hours of sleep I need. My second resolution will be to practice yoga for at least 15 minutes each day. I love yoga, but I love to do it even more in short sessions throughout the day. For some reason it is easier for me to commit to 10 minutes in the morning and 20 in the evening, seems less daunting somehow. I hope most days I will practice yoga longer then 15 minutes, but on busy days, I would like that to be my minimum.

My final two resolutions are aimed at increasing my mental energy. I have created a list of nagging task just as Gretchen Rubin did. These are task that you are constantly reminding yourself you need to do, yet never get around to doing them. I now have my running list of nagging task and I plan to tackle them during the month of January. This may not always be something I work on daily, but I want to work towards completing these task by the end of the month. Of course the list is ever growing, but I will do my best! My last resolution is to set a timer and tidy my space for 10 minutes every night.  Clutter gives me anxiety and puts me in a bad mood. By taking 10 short minutes every night to pick up my space, I can wake up to a relaxing environment. I will be keeping track of how well I complete my resolutions each day and update you at the end of the month. I would love to know what your resolutions are for 2016 in the comment section below!

Leave a Reply

