Organize the New Year

IMG_5182

I first read The Life-Changing magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo during the summer of 2015. I stayed up until the wee hours of the morning sorting through everything I owned and downsizing drastically. I understand this does not appeal to everyone, I have often heard my family members say they could never part with their things. I also used to be that way. I was a saver and had a very bad habit of buying things just because they were cheap or on sale, especially clothing. My closet had gotten so out of control I was storing my clothing in two separate closets, in two separate rooms!

I heard about this book through a YouTuber I watch, Savannah K Wallace. She posted a video about how she cleaned out her closet and house by using the method in this book. I went to Amazon and bought the book immediately, I knew this was something I needed (I have now seen this book at Target by the way). When I got the book and started reading it, it was so hard to finish the book and not dive immediately into clearing out my clutter. Marie Kondo suggest that you clear the clutter in one sitting though, so you do not lose momentum or leave the project unfinished.

She has a very specific order in which the clear the clutter. First, you start with clothing. In the book she details how to sort, organize, and store clothing. Then you move onto books. This was a hard category for me, I had to sort through my books a few times. When I started to recognize what books I had just because I had purchased them for a low price but had never actually read or enjoyed, the process became much easier. Next you sort through all your papers. I had an unbelievable amount of paper. I had saved every paper I ever had from middle school through college. Why? I have no idea. I recycled them all except stories I had written or projects I had made. Next, you tackle the komono, or miscellaneous items. In the book she breaks down an order to do this working from less sentimental items to more sentimental items. The purpose of this is, by the time you get the sentimental items you are used to the process and better able to let go of things.

I could go on and on about this book. I think it is something everyone should read. I highly suggest checking it out at your local library or picking up a copy for yourself. The investment was worth it for me. I went from using two closets to only half of one closet, and getting dressed is so much easier for me. And that is just one example of how this book changed my living space. A new year is a great time to clear out your space. If you have already read this book, I would love to know your thoughts and how your living space was most changed!

Leave a Reply

