I Heart Keenwah

IMG_5184

I do not live in the most vegan friendly, progressive area so I often hear about interesting snacks but can’t ever find them. Odd as it may sound, I often go to T.J. Maxx to find new, unique snacks. And that is where I finally found the I Heart Keenwah quinoa puffs! I first heard about these when I was watching a vegan snack box unboxing on YouTube posted by Rhian HY (I love her videos). She seemed to really enjoy them and I love to have a crunchy snack around to curve my chip craving. I went on a mission around to every T.J. Maxx in my area to find more flavors.

On the website for the company they have four flavors listed, sea salt truffle, herbes de provence, sweet chili, and aged cheddar. All the flavors but aged cheddar are vegan. I was really hoping all four would be vegan snacks, but three is better then nothing (something to think about though I Heart Keenwah company). I found every flavor but herbes de provence and I obviously did not buy the aged cheddar snacks due to it not being vegan. The first flavor I tried was sea salt truffle. I was not a huge fan of the flavor but I did like the texture and crunch of the puffs. The second flavor I found was sweet chili. I liked the taste of this flavor better, but it definitely has a very mild chili flavor.

This snack is wonderful because it is vegan, gluten free, non-gmo, and since it is made from quinoa flour, it contains 5 grams of protein per serving. Obviously snacking on fresh fruit or vegetables would be healthier, but every once in a while I need to indulge in a guilty pleasure and I would rather reach for a quinoa puff than a potato chip. At my T.J. Maxx these snacks were priced at $2.39, but the price tag says compare at $4.00. I can tell you right now, I would never pay $4.00 for this bag. On the website they are for sale for $3.49 for a single bag. They can be purchased in bulk on the website for discounted prices and if you spend $50, your order ships for free.

I don’t know if I would purchase this snack online, but I would definitely buy it again if I saw it at T.J. Maxx in the future. If you have tried these snacks I would love to know what you thought about them in the comment section below!

Leave a Reply

