Vegan Pulled Pork?

IMG_4214

Last week I was finally able to try the Upton’s Naturals bar-b-que jackfruit. I have seen many vegan bloggers mention this product and I was excited to be able to try it for myself. I have previously had a jackfruit sandwich at a vegan restaurant in St. Louis and I really enjoyed it. Pulled pork was something I liked to eat before going vegan, so having a vegan option is something I really enjoy. I cooked the Upton’s Naturals jackfruit per the package instructions and toasted up some vegan pretzel buns. I also had some cucumber in the fridge and fried onions left over from the holidays that I decided to use on the sandwich as well. Overall I enjoyed the sandwich, but the sauce on the jackfruit was very sour. I am someone who likes sour, and it was a little too much even for me. The sauce was vinegar based so the flavor was understandable, I just did not quite enjoy it.

IMG_4216

The brand has another flavor of prepared jackfruit, chili lime, that I am looking forward to trying. I think that would be really good on some nachos! Overall, I would buy this product again, and just add some other sauce to the jackfruit to try and make the flavor less tangy. I am also excited to get some jackfruit and mix up a sauce of my own. I love the options a product like this provides for a plant based diet. If you have tried this product or something similar I would love to know about your experience in the comments!

IMG_4217
I added some hot sauce and a side of sweet potato tots to my sandwich!
Leave a Reply

