French Onion Soup

IMG_5215

Last night I made some vegan French onion soup. This is an item I could never pass up if I saw it on a menu before going vegan. I made this soup in a crockpot, one of my favorite kitchen gadgets. I love tossing all the ingredients in, letting it cook for a while, and coming home to a meal ready  to eat. The recipe I used was very simple and this is something I have made before. I really enjoy it, and it fills my craving for one of my favorite food items, but I do think the recipe needs just a little tweak. The soup is not quite as salty as I remember the non-vegan version being. Next time I make it, I plan to add some Better Than Bouillon to hopefully amp up the flavor, but overall this dish is so satisfying.

The recipe calls for:

  • 4 sweet onions sliced
  • 4 gloves of garlic minced
  • 1 tablespoon dried thyme
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 cup red wine
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Baguette
  • Vegan cheese shredded, such as mozzarella

Cook the onions and garlic in some olive oil in a pan on medium-high heat, then add them to the crockpot. Add the other ingredients to the crockpot, besides the bread and cheese, and cook on low for 4 hours. When you are ready to eat, if you have oven safe bowls, place soup in a bowl, place sliced bread on top, and cover with cheese. Place in oven under broiler to melt cheese and crisp up bread a little. I do not have oven safe bowls, so I sliced up my bread, covered it with cheese, and broiled it on a baking sheet. When the cheese was melted, I removed the bread from the oven and placed it on top of my bowl of soup. Such a satisfying meal on a cold snowy day!

Leave a Reply

