Vegan “Chicken” and Gravy

My fiancé was really craving a traditional American meal.. Not always the easiest thing to do on a vegan diet. More specifically, he requested a meal with some sort of gravy. Determined to make it work, I dug through my cookbooks to find a recipe for gravy that would work. Most vegan recipes for gravy that I find involve mushrooms. While they may be good recipes, mushroom gravy is not the traditional gravy flavor I crave. 

Luckily I was able to find a gravy recipe involving no mushrooms! It was a very simple recipe based on flour, nutritional yeast, dairy free milk, seasoning, and the star of the show, Better Than Bouilon vegan beef flavoring. The gravy turned out creamy, flavorful, and just down right perfect. Using the other food we found in the fridge, we made a wonderful meal to enjoy our gravy with!

We baked a sweet potato, cooked up some green beans, and baked some vegan chicken tenders from Trader Joe’s. It was very reminiscent of chicken fried steak, minus the cruelty! The gravy was so good, we ended up topping everything on the plate with it! Making meals like this gives me so much hope. Every time I recreate a meal from my childhood, meals traditionally not very vegan friendly, I know it is possible for everyone to adopt a plant based diet.

2 thoughts on “Vegan “Chicken” and Gravy

Leave a Reply

